Professor Elvin Beach

beach.jpg

 Associate Professor of Practice, Materials Science and Engineering

Fontana Laboratories, Room 4011

beach.110@osu.edu

Education

  • B.S. Metallurgical Engineering - Michigan Technological University (2000)
  • M.S. Materials Science & Engineering - Michigan Technological University (2001)
  • Ph.D. Materials Science & Engineering - The Ohio State University (2009)

Career

  • The Dow Chemical Company, Central R&D/Analytical Sciences (2001 - 2005)
  • Owens Corning - R&D (coating development) 2009-2010
  • Battelle Memorial Institute - failure analysis & materials selection 2010 - 2013
  • Worthington Industries, Inc. - Principal Scientist, Materials Lab 2013 - 2019
  • Associate Professor of Practice, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, The Ohio State University, 2019-present

Areas of interest

  • General materials science and engineering
  • Metallurgy
  • Welding and joining
  • Processing/manufacturing

Area of expertise

Failure analysis

Research background

I have had the opportunity to work across a range of materials during my educational and professional experiences. I began as an undergraduate research assistant working on surface chemistry and atomic force microscopy. My internship while at Michigan Tech was at IBM developing advanced lead-free solder joints. When I returned to complete my M.S. degree, that research involved surface modification to minimize drug particle adhesion.

I worked in industry for four and a half years, during which I worked on early OLED development and failure analysis at the Dow Chemical Company. While there, enjoyed the opportunity to work extensively with ion and electron beam microscopes.

I returned to Ohio State to pursue a Ph.D. and my research was specific to developing ceramic microsensors using ink-jet deposition. This work involved chemical synthesis, microhotplate fabrication and device testing at NIST. After graduation, I worked with Owens Corning developing coatings for roofing that prevented algae and other microorganisms from forming on roofing.

A transition to Battelle Memorial Institute doing contract research and development allowed me to focus on failure analysis and materials selection work with both government and industrial customers.

I eventually took a position at Worthington Industries leading the research and development team in the Materials Lab. This involved significant work in failure analysis for our customers, rapid manufacturing process troubleshooting, developing new joining methods (high speed friction stir welding), and creating a hot stamping simulation system for press hardenable steels.  

I've always enjoyed learning new things and transferring that knowledge to others in order to advance their professional and educational growth. When the opportunity to work in the labs at Ohio State presented itself, I jumped at it. I enjoy creating laboratory-based class experiences that reinforce fundamental concepts learned in core classes and providing context for how these will translate to practice in industry.

Approach to diversity and inclusion

I do not have a specific philosophy here other than simply being kind and encouraging others to do so.  

I was lucky enough to grow up in a place where the population was made up of many first generation Americans from places such as Central America, South East Asia and Western Africa. I feel privileged and fortunate to have grown up in a place were diversity was normal. It was not until I was in my final year of high school that I realized all of my friends had experienced racism and discrimination. It was at that point in life my conviction to advocate for equality and stand-up for those being unjustly discriminated against surfaced.  

I believe that discrimination and intolerance of any kind has no place in the world. I hope that everyone in my classes feel that they are welcomed, important members of the group and know it is a safe place to express their ideas.

What you might not know about me

I grew up near Lake Michigan in a smaller town called Holland. I really enjoy anything that has to do with water (boating, fishing, swimming, etc) and try to get back to the big lake as much as possible in the summer.

I enjoy being outdoors in all seasons and spend a lot of time hiking, fishing and camping with my family.

When I have some spare time, I enjoy building just about anything. Woodworking and furniture making are my favorite hobbies, but metal working is an interest that I have been revisiting recently. I like to use reclaimed wood or other materials to make furniture or just "pieces of art" (which usually means it didn't quite turn out the way I intended it).