Skip to main content

Alan Luo selected to be TMS Fellow, Class of 2023


Professor Alan Luo is one of seven TMS members chosen to receive a TMS Fellow Award for the class of 2023. 

The award is in recognition of Alan's outstanding research and industrial implementation of lightweight alloys and manufacturing processes, innovative teaching and sustained service in materials processing technologies.

I am incredibly honored and humbled by the TMS Fellow Award and very grateful for the support and contributions from my students and post-doctoral researchers at The Ohio State University and my former colleagues at General Motors. I also acknowledge TMS for being my professional home where I have enjoyed many collaborations and friendships with numerous mentors and colleagues from industry and academia. This award also gives me an opportunity to thank my family and especially my wife of 34 years for the greatest support to my hard work. I will strive to devote my best efforts to educate young engineers and innovate with them in materials science and processing technologies.

Dr. Alan Luo is the FEF Key Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and the Department of Integrated Systems Engineering. Prior to joining Ohio State in 2013, Dr. Luo was a GM Technical Fellow at General Motors Global Research and Development Center (Warren, MI, USA) with 20 years of industrial experience. 

Professor Luo was nominated by Diran Apelian, a 2006 recipients of a TMS Fellow Award. Luo also received the 2023 TMS Research to Industrial Practice Award from TMS. He will accept both awards at the TMS-AIME Annual Awards Ceremony on March 22 during the TMS 2023 Annual Meeting & Exhibition in San Diego, California.

The follow faculty members have also been awarded TMS Fellow Awards

Dennis Dimiduk (2019)
Michael Mills (2015)
Hamish Fraser (2005)
Robert Wagoner (2003)
David B. Williams (1996)
Robert A. Rapp (1982)
Paul G. Shewmon (1979)
George R. St. Pierre (1976)
John P. Hirth (1974)
Mars G. Fontana (1971)
Categories: FacultyAwards