Professor Luo receives Distinguished Scientist Award for research on magnesium technology

Posted: February 8, 2021

Dr. Alan Luo, FEF Key Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, was awarded the Distinguished Scientist Award at the 7th International Conference on Magnesium, which was held virtually November 19-22, 2020. The award recognizes a scientist whose contributions to research or the industrialization of magnesium and magnesium alloys is considered highly significant and innovative by peers in the field.


“I am honored to be selected as the inaugural recipient of this prestigious award and humbled by the assessment of my international peers,” shares Professor Luo.

Dr. Luo has been developing lightweight magnesium alloys and manufacturing processes since 1993 when he began his magnesium research at the Institute of Magnesium Technology in Quebec, Canada. Thereafter, Luo worked at General Motors Global Technical Center (Warren, MI) developing new magnesium alloys, casting technologies and automotive applications for 15 years.

Professor Luo joined The Ohio State University in 2013 and established the Lightweight Materials and Manufacturing Research Laboratory (LMMRL). Under the direction of Professor Luo, LMMRL researchers study: 1) magnesium alloy design and development aided by computational tools 2) advanced casting and forming process development and 3) magnesium technologies for transportation and biomedical applications.

“This award was only possible through my many years of collaborations with industry and the dedicated efforts of my outstanding Ph.D. students and postdoctoral researchers.”

The International Magnesium Science & Technology awards were established by the Journal of Magnesium and Alloys (JMA), ISO sub-technical committee (ISO/TC 79/SC 5) ‘Magnesium and alloys of cast or wrought magnesium’ and the International Magnesium Society (IMS).

photo of Distinguished Scientist Award give to Dr. Alan Luo, Ohio State Nov. 2020

The conference recap and listing of select awards and recipients are listed on the conference website