You are here

College honors distinguished faculty


The College of Engineering annually honors faculty members for outstanding teaching and research. The 2018 awardees were recognized on April 26 at the 21st annual Distinguished Faculty Awards. Here are the honorees from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering:

Harrison Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education

Roberto Myers, MSE — For innovations in materials synthesis and design leading to breakthrough discoveries in spin-based electronics, spin/thermal effects and polarization engineered nanowire heterostructures.

Established in 1983 with a gift from Doris and Stanley Harrison (’58, electrical engineering), this award honors an early to mid-career faculty member’s excellence in teaching and qualitative aspects of teaching, exceptional research, or contributions to engineering or architecture concepts. 

The Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education 

Gerald Frankel, MSE — For distinguished scholarship, national and international leadership, and inspired teaching and advising in the field of corrosion.

In honor of Peter Scott, a 1949 Ohio State graduate in electrical engineering who received an honorary doctoral degree in 1995, this award recognizes a senior faculty member who has achieved both national and international status as a leading educator and researcher. 

David C. McCarthy Engineering Teaching Award 

Avraham Benatar, MSE — In recognition of his innovative use of technology to enhance teaching and learning.

This award recognizes the contributions of College of Engineering junior faculty and staff to create more innovative and effective teaching and learning. 

Dean’s Award for Distinguished Outreach Achievements

Glenn Daehn, MSE — For weaving professional development of K-12 science teachers with economic and workforce development, leading to the creation and adoption of materials science courses in high schools across Ohio and the nation.

Established in 2015, this award recognizes an individual faculty member who has demonstrated significant and longstanding achievement of positive community impact through outreach activities or programs within the college

Lumley Research Awards 

Qadeer Ahmed, CAR; Theodore Allen, ISE; Nima Ghalichechian, ECE; Liang Guo, ECE; Lisa Hall, CBE; Rubao Li, CSE; Andrew O’Brien, ESL; Siddharth Rajan, ECE; Ajay Shah, FABE; Soheil Soghrati, MAE; Vishnu Sundaresan, MAE; and Wei Zhang, MSE

The Lumley Engineering Research Awards are presented to a select group of outstanding researchers in the College of Engineering who have shown exceptional activity and success in pursuing new knowledge of a fundamental or applied nature.