Skip to main content

Professor Alan Luo Inducted into the 2013 Class of ASM Fellows


Alan Luo has been selected for the 2013 Class of ASM Fellows, an honor designated for those who make distinguished contributions to materials science and engineering. The ASM Board of Trustees is honoring him for his outstanding impact on research and automotive applications of lightweight magnesium and aluminum alloys, as well as his leadership in international collaborations of light metals research development.

ASM established the Fellow of the Society in 1969 not only to provide recognition to members for their significant impacts on the field, but to select those elite colleagues to serve as society advisors.  The ASM Awards dinner is set for October 29 in Montreal, Canada, where the Convocation of Fellows will take place for Luo and his 25 co-award recipients.

Luo is a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) and Professor of Integrated Systems Engineering (ISE) at The Ohio State University. Luo came to Ohio State in July with 20 years of industrial research and development experience and most recently as a GM Technical Fellow at General Motors Global Research and Development Center. Luo was hired by OSU as part of the manufacturing initiative in the College of Engineering among the departments of MSE, ISE and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE).

“I am excited and honored to join this great university to work with students in the Ohio State classrooms and labs, and to advance materials science and manufacturing engineering," Luo said. "The ASM Fellow award is a significant milestone in my career because I’m joining several OSU faculty members who are already ASM Fellows. It’s great to be associated with those distinguished colleagues."

This is not the first time ASM has honored Luo, as he received the ASM Materials Science Research Silver Medal in 2008. Luo’s other accolades include the 2013 TMS Brimacombe Medalist Award and SAE International Forest R. McFarland Award, the 2009 United States Council for Automotive Research Special Recognition Award, two John M. Campbell Awards, and three Charles L. McCuen Awards for research applications at General Motors.

Category: Faculty