Materials Characterization: Microstructure and Property Relationships

There is a direct correlation between the microscopic configuration of atoms and molecules and a material's macroscopic, or "visible," properties. Understanding how properties such as transparency or ductility are derived from the atomic structure of a substance enables researchers to manipulate microscopic structures to achieve desired large-scale properties. Faculty and students in Ohio State’s Department of Materials Science and Engineering make use of the department’s state-of-the-art testing and characterization equipment to perform research in the following areas:

  • Computer simulation of microstructures and mathematical modeling
  • Microstructural control for quality castings
  • Structure and energy of interphase interfaces
  • The role of interfaces in composites
  • Structure and properties of grain boundaries
  • Crystallization of glasses
  • The role of microstructural heterogeneity in localized corrosion and environmental fracture
  • Deformation mechanisms in high-temperature intermetallics

These faculty members specialize in materials characterization.

photo of Hamish Fraser
Hamish Fraser
fraser.3@osu.edu
jinwoo_hwang_2019.jpg
Jinwoo Hwang
hwang.458@osu.edu
jinschek.1.jpg
Joerg Jinschek
jinschek.1@osu.edu
Xun Liu
Xun Liu
liu.7054@osu.edu
photo of Jenifer Locke, Ohio State
Jenifer Locke
locke.121@osu.edu
alan_luo.jpg
Alan Luo
luo.445@osu.edu
David McComb, Ohio State
David McComb
mccomb.29@osu.edu
photo of Michael J. Mills, Chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Ohio State
Michael Mills
​​​​​​mills.108@osu.edu
Narasi Sridhar
Narasi Sridhar
sridhar.13@osu.edu
photo of Wolfgang Windl, Ohio State
Wolfgang Windl
windl.1@osu.edu
Categories: FacultyResearch