Characterization and Microscopy

Extensive facilities for characterizing the properties and structure of materials are available to our students and faculty. This includes the capability to test both existing and theoretical materials for qualities such as strength, plasticity, and hardness as well as explore the microstructure that leads to these properties. 

At the core of this effort is the Center for Electron Microscopy and Analysis (CEMAS). CEMAS is the preeminent materials characterization hub for business and academia. The Center brings together multidisciplinary expertise to drive synergy and amplify our characterization capabilities, and thus challenge what is possible in electron microscopy. CEMAS is revolutionizing teaching and learning of advanced characterization techniques for students and researchers.

Characterization and Microscopy
photo of Vicky Doan-Nguyen, Ohio State Professor
Vicky Doan-Nguyen
doan-nguyen.1@osu.edu
photo of Hamish Fraser
Hamish Fraser
fraser.3@osu.edu
jinwoo_hwang_2019.jpg
Jinwoo Hwang
hwang.458@osu.edu
jinschek.1.jpg
Joerg Jinschek
jinschek.1@osu.edu
       
aeriel_murphy-5.jpg
Aeriel Leonard
leonard.649@osu.edu
David McComb, Ohio State
David McComb
mccomb.29@osu.edu
Director of CEMAS
photo of Michael J. Mills, Chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Ohio State
Michael Mills
mills.108@osu.edu
 
Categories: ResearchFaculty