2022 Faculty Awards and Honors


Throughout the year, many of our faculty members are featured in industry journals, recognized as fellows, and invited to give keynote presentations. Each of these opportunities allows the faculty member to showcase their expertise in engineering while representing Ohio State's College of Engineering. These individuals are forever students of their discipline - either materials science and engineering or welding engineering - and the Department of Materials Science and Engineering congratulates them on these recognitions.

Michael Mills - Honorary Doctorate from Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany for research on the relationship between microstructure and structural properties of materials. (March 2022)

Joshua Goldberger - 2021 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) class of Fellows for distinguished contributions to the field of materials chemistry, particularly for developing new two-dimensional and layered materials with applications in electronics. (January 2022)

14 members of faculty among top 2% of scientists worldwide: Peter Anderson, Glenn Daehn, Dave Farson, Gerald Frankel, Hamish Fraser, Perena Gouma, Joseph Heremans, Alan Luo, Michael Mills, Antonio Ramirez, Yunzhi Wang, Dean Emeritus David B. Williams, James Williams, Wolfgang Windl 



Enam Chowdhury - DOE Office of Science Phase IIA SBIR Award to study damage thresholds of interference coatings used in infrared ultra-high intensity lasers (July 2022)

Aeriel Leonard - DOE Early Career Research Program Award (June 2022)

Hendrik Colijn - Chuck Fiori Award (April 2022)

Vicky Doan-Nguyen - Lumley Research Award (April 2022)

Yunzhi Wang - Charles Ellison MacQuigg Award for Outstanding Teaching (April 2022)

Henk Colijn - Chuck Fiori Award from the Microscopy Society of America for significant contributions to microscopy and analysis (April 2022)

Hamish Fraser - $3M to support Lightweight High Entropy Alloy Discovery (LHEAD) initiative; joint research project with Lehigh University to develop novel structural materials for high-strength applications as part of a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Army Research Lab (ARL). (March 2022)

Carolin Fink, John Lippold - first place in 2022 EPD Materials Characterization Best Poster Award from the TMS-EPD Materials Characterization Committee for their poster, “S/TEM Characterization of Interdendritic Phases in Ni-30Cr Weld Metal 52XL”. The winning team also included MSE doctoral student Cheng-Han Li and former MSE professor Joerg Jinschek who is now with Technical University of Denmark.